The Medical Council of India (MCI) conducted the inspection in 11 private medical colleges that were given conditional recognition by the Supreme Court-appointed Oversight Committee (OC) and found that about eight of them don’t have adequate facilities. The MCI has submitted a report to the central government to debar these colleges from taking fresh students from 2017-18. If the private medical colleges don’t get their act together, the state stands to lose more than 1,000 MBSS seats the next academic year. These medical colleges were granted conditional permission by the OC to take students for the year the 2016-17. This is after MCI recommended de-recognition of these colleges after inspection for lack of adequate facilities. However, the OC order overturned MCI recommendation and allowed these colleges to admit students subject to a few conditions. The MCI website lists 11 colleges that were granted conditional permission for renewal of recognition by the OC. According to MCI official, as per OC instructions, they conducted the inspection and found that many of the colleges have failed to remove the deficiencies and they have informed the Central government of the same. Sources said that notices have been issued to these colleges and two colleges have already responded to the same. The OC stipulated that these colleges will have to submit an affidavit to fill in all the deficiencies and the MCI may conduct the inspection, to verify the compliance submitted by the colleges. Also, OC said that if it was found that the colleges failed to comply with the inspection to be conducted after, then they will be debarred from fresh student intake for 2 years commencing from 2017-18. The colleges had to ensure adequate faculty, infrastructure, clinical material, bed occupancy and other requirements. However, no official comment was forthcoming either from the MCI or private college managements on the issue. News Update: List of 11 colleges is: Al Azhar Medical College and Super Speciality Hospital, Thodupuzha, DM Wayanad Institute of Medical Sciences, Wayanad, Kerala Medical College, Palakkad, Malabar Medical College, Kozhikode, Mount Zion Medical College, Pathanamthitta, PK Das Institute of Medical Sciences, Palakkad and SR Medical College and Research Centre, Varkala, KMCT Medical College, Kozhikode, Dr Somervel Memorial CSI Hospital and Medical College, Thiruvananthapuram, Kannur Medical College, Kannur and Gokulam Medical College and research Foundation, Thiruvananthapuram.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: